California Minimum Wage Increase
On January 1, 2021, California’s minimum wage increased to $14 per hour for employers of 26 or more employees and $13 per hour for employers of 25 or fewer employees. Minimum salaries for California’s white-collar exemptions, which are based on the minimum wage, will also increase. Employees should also remember to check local minimum wage laws, many of which require higher hourly rates than the State of California. For example, in the City of Los Angeles, minimum wage rose to $15.00 per hour in July 2022, and it will soon rise to $16.04.
On January 1, 2023, the State of California's minimum wage will become $15.50 per hour for all businesses, regardless of the size. Again, individual California cities may require a higher minimum wage.
Should you have questions about wages laws or anything related to employment law please feel free to contact Christopher Taylor, Esq at (626) 219-6008.